Steering Group


Professor Gianni Angelini: BHF Professor of Cardiac Surgery and Cardiovascular theme lead at the NIHR Bristol Biomedical Research Centre

Deputy Director

Professor Alastair Poole: Professor of Pharmacology and Cell Biology


Dr Giovanni Biglino: Biostatistics

Zoe Holland: Research Development Manager, Faculty of Health Sciences

Professor Massimo Caputo: Congenital heart surgery

Dr Becky Foster: Renal, diabetic and hypertensive disease

Professor Sarah George: Cardiovascular signalling

Dr Emma Hart: Cardionomics

Dr Andrew James: Cardiac biology

Dr Jason Johnson: Pathology of cardiovascular diseases

Professor Paolo Madeddu: Cardiovascular regenerative medicine

Professor Stuart Mundell: Vascular biology and atherothrombosis

Professor Ruth Newbury-Ecob: Clinical genetics

Dr Angus Nightingale: Consultant cardiologist

Dr Guido Pieles: Sports and exercise cardiology

Professor Simon Satchell: Renal, diabetic and hypertensive disease

Professor Saadeh Suleiman: Cardiac biology

Professor Nic Timpson: Population health and epidemiology